Author Topic: I want to learn to play guitar. Any advice for a beginner?  (Read 5258 times)

I'M Eh-chan!

• Pedophile Scientist
    • View Profile
    • http://www.freewebs.com/ehchan/
I want to learn to play guitar. Any advice for a beginner?
« on: April 25, 2007, 10:00:19 AM »
Hey all, as I've said in my topic title, I really want to learn to play the guitar and I feel it's time I acted.  After my finals are over, I AM going to buy a guitar and learn how to play.  I'm tired of sitting around watching guitarists and thinking "wow, that's cool, I wish I could do that" and not acting on my desires.

I've begun looking around on different sites for information for a beginner.  I want to get as many opinions as possible, though, before I make any purchases.

So if any of you out there play guitar, I would greatly appreciate it if you could give me some advice.  I am a complete novice, and really have no idea how to play a guitar or what to look for when buying one.  I want to get an electric guitar.  So if you could recommend some good, affordable (around $500 or less, if possible) guitars for a beginner, that would be awesome.  Also, I will need to know what to look for when making a purchase (like what I should listen for when I test the guitar).  Finally, I'll also need to know about other necessary accessories like amps.  I am going to be making my purchase at a physical store.

Once again, any advice would be greatly appreciated.  Thank you in advance!

~Eh-chan

UPDATE:  I have my eye on this one:

http://www.fender.com/products/search.php?partno=0135102387

Fender Standard Telecaster (Electron Blue color)

I'm gonna look around some more.  I'll be going to the store on Friday to pick something, so I'll let everyone know what I got either way.

Takiaki

• Unemployed
    • View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2007, 02:56:12 PM »
Congratulations!